Film Friday ~ Week 1

Gear: Nikon F100, Fuji 400h, 50mm 1.8, Walgreens 1 hour photo 🙂
Photos are uncut and unedited…welcome to my first roll!

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

Film Friday ~ Week 1

 A few notes from this session:

  • All of these photos were taken TODAY, in the pouring rain I might add…since the lab I sent my other roll too gave me a 2 week (?!) estimate! All I can say is that those photos better be GOOD! So, thanks, Walgreens 1 hour photo, for saving my butt (plus you can’t beat $5 for a 1 hour develop/scan!).
  • If you ever need an open pass to photograph anything you want without making people nervous, bring your charming 4 year old with you, they make a pretty fine entrance ticket. 🙂
  • This was the first roll of film I’ve seen from my f100! I’m in love.
  • I over-exposed the film 1 stop or so…ala Jonathon Canlas (see his link below).
  • 35 exposures is ALOT…I was stretching it towards the end trying to find things I wanted to photograph, but as always I think my best shots come at the end of a photo-session…once my brain has had a chance to warm up a bit.

This project, if you haven’t already read the “project” page, is pretty simple…just me taking a roll of film every week and posting every photo from that roll. I thought it would be fun to show EVERY photo that I take so photogs and non-photographers alike, could see the full process. And I think, in time, it will help develop/refine my own style as well.

Here’s to 2011!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jill on January 8, 2011 - 6:03 am

    You are amazing and I feel so lucky to know you!! Can’t wait for next week!

  2. #2 by Harry on January 8, 2011 - 7:07 am

    This roll looks great! Lots of fun stuff, great color, lots of nice walkabout shots.

    You’re right about the free cute ticket. I have a 5, soon to be 6 year old daughter and everyone thinks she is the cutest thing ever.

    35 shots can be a lot. I like my 6×7 camera, it takes 10 shots to a roll which I can easily finish in an hour.

    Or the single instant Polaroid or Fuji film. Taking just one shot and seeing it on film seconds later is a lot of fun.

    That said, sometimes the “just finish the roll whatever” shots end up as the best ones on the roll, something about not trying so hard I think.

  3. #3 by Harry on January 8, 2011 - 7:07 am

    Oh and you found some great signs!

  4. #4 by Mandi on January 8, 2011 - 3:14 pm

    Wow, these shots are great! Looks like you had fun too.

  5. #5 by Jamie on January 9, 2011 - 12:17 am

    Film really is different, isn’t it? Well done! Can’t wait to see more…

  6. #6 by Melissa on January 10, 2011 - 1:41 am

    great shots! Really glad I discovered your project, I think I’ll try it as well, although maybe not every week 🙂

  7. #7 by Traci on January 11, 2011 - 9:55 pm

    Great photos, Kirsten! It makes me really miss Seattle, too (even with the dreary rain). I look forward to seeing more.

  1. Dear poor neglected blog… « Something Cheeky
  2. Tweets that mention Film Friday ~ Week 1 « Film Friday -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

